Has anything ever happened in your life that you cannot explain? A moment at which you look back and think to yourself…WOW, that was exactly what I needed. It could be as simple as your iPod shuffling to the song with the lyrics you really needed to hear in that moment when you felt broken or it could be as grand as an unexplainable healing of a loved one. I assume (and I hope) that you all have had at least one of those remarkable moments in your life time. If you have not I am willing to wager that you just do not remember them.

So where am I going with this? Honestly, I’m not entirely 100% sure. This is my first “blog” post and I must say it is a lot harder than I thought it would be. Now I promise, pinky-promise, that this next part relates, even though it may not seem like it at first. So keep reading, and just bear with me if you would.

I love the Christy Miller Series. I do not know how many of you have read them, but if you have not, I, without an inkling of a doubt, encourage you to start right now (well after you finish reading my first blog post that is). I honestly cannot begin to describe the series to you, but let’s just say Robin Jones Gunn is an amazing author who definitely understand the life of the average teenage Christian girl.

An amazing part of the fifth book, Island Dreamer, is the description of A GOD THING. Say what?! Yes, you heard me right (or read it right?), A GOD THING. What is A GOD THING? I am so glad you asked! Gunn describes it as such:

“It’s when something happens in your life, and you look at it and can’t explain how or why it happened, but you know there’s a reason for it. You know that God is doing something in your life, and it changes you. There’s no other way to explain it except to see it as A GOD THING.”

Take a minute and let that sink in. Reread it if you so desire.

It is pretty crazy, huh? I mean honestly, think about it…A GOD THING is kind of like a little miracle and it is literally a big blessing. Both the examples of the song playing randomly and the family member being healed happened to me (the song one happening far more times than I can count). And there have been so many more GOD THINGS in my life, some that I remember and some that I do not.

I guess I now know what point I want to make. I want to encourage and inspire you guys to remember the GOD THINGS in your life. How? Well, I keep a journal. Whenever and wherever A GOD THING occurs, scribble it down in the journal with the date. It is really as simple as that. And then, if you really want to get wild, ever so often look back on previous entries and see how God is working in your life. Take it from me, it can blow your mind! I promise, God works and is working in each and every one of you and I can honestly assume that He wants us to be blown away by His awesome, awesome plans!

So I guess that was my first “blog” post. Huh. Well, we will have to see where this takes us.

~BL

Leave a Reply

