Deuteronomy 13:4

It is the Lord your God you must follow, and him you must revere. Keep his commands and obey him; serve him and hold fast to him.

Pretty good, right?

I found this verse last December when I opened my Bible to a random page. It just stood out. And for those of you who read my first blog post, I think it was a God Thing.

This verse tells me exactly what needs to define my life, my actions, my thoughts.  GOD. I mean I love popular verses like Jeremiah 29:11, Philippians 4:13, and John 3:16, but this verse is personal to my life. It is my LIFE VERSE.

I am a planner, an organizer, and a color coder. I like control. BUT this verse tells me plain and simple that I must FOLLOW Him. No matter my plans or my expectations, I need to follow His ways.

I am a lover of many things. Family, friends, literature, summer, Chinese food, songs around a campfire, the Adirondacks, fuzzy socks, bruschetta, hot apple cider, Sperrys, the color green, country music, and sweaters are all things I love. BUT this verse says that I need to REVERE God. I cannot put anything before Him. I cannot worship other idols.

I am a leader. I almost always take a leadership role. I may not “command” people to do things, but I do lead. This verse tells me that God needs to be who leads me. I must KEEP HIS COMMANDS and OBEY Him.

I am an extrovert. I love spending time with people. I love full schedules. I like trying new things. But this verse tells me that I need to SERVE. I need to give my time, my money, and my energy to help others. It can be as simple as setting the table or it can be a big as serving at a soup kitchen, but I need to put God and others first.

I am an emotional person. I cry a lot. (Do not worry…I laugh a lot too.) I have highs and lows, ups and downs. I get discouraged. I get excited. I get lonely. I get overwhelmed. But in all those times, I need to HOLD FAST to God.

So yeah. That’s my Life Verse and what it means to me. So I encourage you all to grab your Bible from your coffee table or your attic or where ever you keep it and open it up! Start flipping through! Dive in! Immerse yourself in the Holy Word! And find yourself a verse that can define your walk with Christ.

Leave a Reply

